Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

Community Engagement

Faculty holding senior advisory positions with national research and medical organizations

Gordon Archer, M.D., professor of internal medicine, senior associate dean for research and research training

  • Steering Committee and Meeting Organizer, NIH Network for Antimicrobial Resistance in Staphylococcus aureus (NARSA)

Kellie J. Archer, Ph.D., associate professor of biostatistics

  • Radiological Devices Panel of the FDA Medical Devices Advisory Committee

Harry D. Bear, M.D., Ph.D., professor and the Dr. Walter Lawrence Jr. Chair in Surgical Oncology

  • National Surgical Adjuvant Breast and Bowel Program Foundation

James P. Bennett, Jr., M.D., Ph.D., professor of neurology and the Bemiss Chair

  • Scientific Advisory Board, the American Parkinson Disease Association 

David X. Cifu, M.D., department chair and the Herman Jacob Flax, M.D., Professor in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

  • National director, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ PMR Program

PonJola Coney, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology

  • National Advisory Council, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

William Dewey, Ph.D., professor and chair of pharmacology and toxicology

  • National Council, National Institute on Drug Abuse
  • President, Friends of NIDA

Danielle Dick, Ph.D., associate professor of psychiatry, psychology, and human and molecular genetics

  • Committee Member, National Academy of Sciences Institute of Medicine’s “Committee on Twin Studies”

Michael Edmond, M.D., M.P.H., M.P.A., professor of internal medicine

  • Advisory Committee, CDC's National Healthcare Safety Network

Paul B. Fisher, M.Ph., Ph.D., professor and chair of human and molecular genetics and the Thelma Newmeyer Corman Endowed Chair in Cancer Research

  • Scientific Advisory Committee, Goldhirsh Foundation for Brain Tumor Research
  • Scientific Advisory Board, International Institute of Anticancer Research, Athens, Greece

Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, Ph.D., professor of pathology

  • Secretary of Health and Human Services’ Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society

Chris Gennings, Ph.D., professor of biostatistics

  • Chronic Hazard Advisory Panel (CHAP), the Consumer Product Safety Commission

Michael Hagan, M.D., Ph.D., professor of radiation oncology       

  • National Director of Radiation Oncology Services, Veterans Administration

Anne-Marie Irani, M.D., professor of pediatrics and medicine and chair of the Division of Pediatric Allergy, Immunology

  • Board of Directors, American Board of Allergy and Immunology
  • Board of Directors, American Board of Medical Specialties
  • Board of Directors, the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology

Gundars Katlaps, M.D., assistant professor of cardiothoracic surgery       

  • Chair, Transplant Surgery Advisory Board of the Department of Veterans Affairs’ National Surgery Office

Susan Kornstein, M.D., professor of psychiatry

  • Advisory Committee on Research on Women’s Health for the NIH’s Office of Research on Women's Health

Alex Krist, M.D., associate professor of Family Medicine and Population Health

  • Gastrointestinal Drugs Advisory Committee, Food and Drug Administration

Anton Kuzel, M.D., professor and the Harris-Mayo Chair in Family Medicine and Population Health

  • Board of Directors, North American Primary Care Research Group

Walter Lawrence, Jr., M.D., professor emeritus of surgery

  • Death Review committee for the Prostate Lung Colorectal and Ovarian Screening Trial of the National Cancer Institute’s Division of Cancer Prevention

James Levenson, M.D., professor of psychiatry, medicine and surgery; vice chair of psychiatry; chairman of the Division of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry

  • Member, DSM-V Somatic Symptom Disorders Work Group

John E. Nestler, M.D., chair of internal medicine and the Dr. William Branch Porter Professor of Medicine

  • Steering Committee, Specialized Cooperative Center Program in Reproduction and Infertility Research

Anand Pandurangi, M.D., professor and vice chair of psychiatry

  • Member, Virginia State Board of Behavior Health and Developmental Services
  • Chair, Mental Health Section, Indo-US and Global Health Care Summit, 2007-2011

John T. Povlishock, Ph.D., professor and chair of anatomy and neurobiology

  • National Advisory Neurological Disorders and Stroke Council

Susan Roseff, M.D., professor of pathology

  • Secretary of HHS Advisory Committee on Blood Safety and Availability

Bruce Rubin, M.D., chair of pediatrics and the Jessie Ball duPont Professor

  • Board of Trustees, American Respiratory Care Foundation
  • Advisory Committee on Blood Safety and Availability, Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Board of Medical Advisors, American Association for Respiratory Care

Lawrence B. Schwartz, M.D., professor of internal medicine and the Charles W. and Evelyn F. Thomas Chair in Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology

  • Board of Directors, Clinical Immunology Society
  • Board of Directors, Co-Chair of Research, Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

Joel J. Silverman, M.D., professor and chair of psychiatry

  • Chairperson, American Psychiatry Association Workgroup on Psychiatric Evaluation of Adults
  • APA Work Group on Initial Evaluation Guidelines

Jerome F. Strauss III, M.D., Ph.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology, dean of the School of Medicine

  • Board of Scientific Counselors, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
  • External Clinical Advisory Council, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
  • Chair of the Board of Directors, Burroughs Wellcome Fund
  • Co-Chair, Indo-U.S. Working Group on Reproductive Health

Richard Wenzel, M.D., professor of internal medicine

  • National Research Advisory Council, Department of Veterans Affairs

Steve Woolf, M.D., M.P.H., professor of Family Medicine and Population Health

  • Advisory Panel on Research, Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress’ Commission on U.S. Federal Leadership in Health and Medicine