Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine
MS Overview1
MS Overview2
MS Overview3
MS Overview4
MS Overview5

Masters Programs

The VCU School of Medicine offers a wide range of Masters degree programs in research-based and applied biomedical sciences, public health and other areas. Masters students typically train under the guidance of faculty mentors and perform research or clinical work while taking advanced courses in a specific degree program. Most Masters students complete their degrees in 2 years. Graduates of our Masters programs can be competitive for further academic training (i.e. Ph.D. or M.D. Programs), or may pursue laboratory research positions in academia or industry, more clinically-oriented careers such as Genetic Counseling and Medical Physics, or job opportunities in education as well as other fields.

Please contact the programs below for additional information.

 

Financial Support, Tuition & Fees

PhD Financial SupportDue to limited resources, students in our M.S. programs do not typically receive direct financial support from departmental, School of Medicine or other VCU sources. The most recent tuition and fees information are provided by the VCU Student Accounting Department. Note that each M.S. program might have unique costs and therefore prospective students are encouraged to directly contact their programs of interest for additional information.

Appropriately enrolled U.S. citizens and permanent residents might be eligible for financial aid. For more information, please contact the VCU School of Medicine Financial Aid Office.

Apply

MS ApplyEach M.S. program recruits students that are uniquely qualified and therefore each program has its own admissions process. Please contact each program for more information on how to apply.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contacts

Please contact the individuals below for additional information about each program.

Program

Contact Information

Addiction Studies

Mary Loos, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-828-8019 
E-mail: meloos@vcu.edu

Anatomy and Neurobiology

Raymond Colello, D.Phil.
Program Director
804-828-2262
E-mail: raymond.colello@vcuhealth.org

Biochemistry

Tomasz K. Kordula, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-828-0771
E-mail: tomasz.kordula@vcuhealth.org

Biostatistics

Russ Boyle, M.A.
Program Director
804-828-9824
E-mail: russell.boyle@vcuhealth.org

Genetic Counseling

Rachel Gannaway, M.S.
Program Director
804-628-3507
E-mail: rachel.gannaway@vcuhealth.org

Human Genetics

Rita Shiang, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-628-4083
E-mail: rita.shiang@vcuhealth.org

Medical Physics

William Song, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-628-3457
E-mail: william.song@vcuhealth.org

Molecular Biology and Genetics

Michael McVoy, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-828-1739
E-mail: michael.mcvoy@vcuhealth.org

Microbiology and Immunology

Cynthia Cornellissen, Ph.D.
Program Director
804-827-1754
E-mail: cynthia.cornellissen@vcuhealth.org

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Hamid I. Akbarali, Ph.D. 
Program Director
804-828-8400
E-mail: hamid.akbarali@vcuhealth.org

Physiology and Biophysics

Christina I. Kyrus, M.B.A.
Program Coordinator
804-628-5506
E-mail: cikyrus@vcu.edu

Master of Public Health

Lisa S. Anderson, M.P.H.
Program Director
804-628-2512 
E-mail: lisa.s.anderson@vcuhealth.org