Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

Summer Research Faculty - 2017

 

FacultyResearch Topics:Available to:

Antonio Abbate
Professor
Cardiology
(804) 828-0513

  • 1 place available
  • Heart Failure
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Keith D. Baker
Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
(804) 828-9762
kdbaker@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Biochemistry
  • Genetics
  • Molecular Biology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Melanie Bean
Assistant Professor
Pediatrics
(804) 827-0661
mkbean@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Clinical Trials
  • Diabetes
  • Health Behaviors
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Peter A. Boling
Professor
Internal Medicine
(804) 828-5323
pboling@vcu.edu

  • 5 places available
  • Stipend available
  • Interprofessional education, including web-based designs
  • Reducing hospital readmissions
  • Fatigue and frailty
  • Medical School students

Paula D. Bos
Assistant Professor
Pathology
(804) 828-7570
pdbos@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Cancer Biology
  • Tumor Microenvironment
  • Metastasis
  • Medical Students

Scott Bowers
Assistant Professor
Psychiatry
(804) 628-7646
msbowers@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Drug and Alcohol Abuse
  • Molecular Imaging
  • Neurosciences
  • College students
  • Medical School students

William Broaddus
Professor
Neurosurgery
(804) 828-9165
wcbroaddus@vcu.edu

  • No opportunities available
  • Cancer Biology
  • Molecular Biology
  • Neurosciences
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Xiangning Chen
Associate Professor
Psychiatry
(804) 828-8124
xchen@vcu.edu

  • 3 places available
  • Biostatistics
  • Genetics
  • Microbiology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Severn B. Churn
Associate Professor
Neurology
(804) 828-0290
schurn@vcu.edu

  • position filled
  • Anatomy
  • Biochemistry
  • Neurosciences
  • High school students
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Daniel Conrad
Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-2311
daniel.conrad@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Immunology
  • Allergic Disease Mechanisms
  • Tumor Immunology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Cynthia N. Cornelissen
Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 827-1754
cncornel@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Immunology
  • Molecular Biology
  • Vaccinolgy
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Laxmikant S. Deshpande
Assistant Professor
Neurology
(804) 828-3392
Laxmikant.Deshpande@vcuhealth.org

  • 2 places available
  • Molecular and Behavioral effects of organophosphate toxicity
  • Molecular mechanisms underlying the development of epilepsy
  • High School students
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Michael S. Donnenberg
Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-0673
Michael.Donnenberg@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Molecular pathogenesis of enteric bacterial infections
  • Medical School students

Carlos R. Escalante
Assistant Professor
Physiology and Biophysics
(804) 828-6991
cescalante@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Biochemistry
  • Biophysics
  • Structural Biology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Laszlo Farkas
Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine
Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine
(804) 628-3335
laszlo.farkas@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Animal Models
  • Basic Science
  • Pulmonary Hypertension
  • Pulmonary Fibrosis
  • Stem Cell Biology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Betty A. Forbes
Professor
Pathology and Medicine
(804) 828-3494
Betty.Forbes@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Mupirocin and chlorhexidine resistance
  • Rapid diagnostic assays
  • Medical School students

Babette Fuss
Professor
Anatomy and Neurobiology
(804) 827-0826
Babette.Fuss@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience
  • Glia Biology in Health and Disease
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Christopher J. Hogan
Assistant Professor
Emergency Medicine
cjhogan2@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Cardiovascualr Disease
  • Clinical Trials
  • Physiology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Alexander H. Krist
Assistant Professor
Family Medicine
(804) 828-9626
ahkrist@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Primary Care
  • Healthcare Delivery and Prevention
  • Health Information Technology
  • Medical School students

Michael C. Kurz
Assistant Professor
Emergency Medicine
mkurz@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Clinical Trials
  • Healthcare Informatics
  • Medical School students

John F. Kuemmerle
Professor
Internal Medicine
Gastroenterology
(804) 828-4060
jkuemmer@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Gastroenterology-Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Molecular Biology
  • Physiology
  • Clinical IBD Research
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Deborah A. Lebman
Associate Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 827-0378
dlebman@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Biochemistry
  • Cancer Biology
  • Immunology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Pin-Lan Li
Professor
Pharmacolgy and Toxicology
(804) 828-4793
pli@vcu.edu

  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Cell Biology
  • Molecular Imaging
  • College students

James A. Lister
Assistant Professor
Human and Molecular Genetics
(804) 628-4518
jalister@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Cancer Biology
  • Genetics
  • Molecular Biology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Joyce A. Lloyd Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Human and Molecular Genetics
(804) 628-2182
jlloyd@vcu.edu

  •  1 place available
  • Molecular Biology
  • Genetics
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Martin J. Mangino
Professor
Surgery
(804) 628-3226
mjmangino@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Transplantation
  • Trauma and Critical Illness

 

  • College students
  • Medical School students

 

Masoud Manjili
Associate Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-8779
mmanjili@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Cancer Biology
  • Immunology
  • Vaccinology
  • College Students
  • Medical School students

Richard T. Marconi
Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-3779
rmarconi@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Lyme disease pathogenesis
  • Vaccine and diagnostic assay development for bacterial pathogens
  • Molecular pathogenesis of periodontal disease
  • College students
  • Dental students
  • Medical School students

Michael F. Miles
Professor
Pharmacology/Toxicology and Neurology
(804) 827-4054
Michael.Miles@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Neuroscience
  • Genetics
  • Drug and Alcohol abuse
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Drew Moghanaki
Assistant Professor
Radiation Oncology
Clinical
(804) 675-5105
dmoghanaki@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Comparative Effectiveness Research(Lung and Prostate Cancer)
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Briana Mezuk
Associate Professor
Family Medicine and Population Health
Division of Epidemiology
(804) 628-2511

  • 4 positions available
  • No stipend
  • Public Health
  • Diabetes
  • Stress and mental health
  • Health disparities/inequalities
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Ross B. Mikkelsen
Professor
Radiation Oncology
(804) 628-0857
ross.mikkelsen@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 position available
  • Tumor progression and inflammation
  • Tumor exosomes
  • Tumor microenvironment
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Tazuddin Mohammed
Assistant Professor
Pediatrics
(804) 628-2511
tmohammed@vcu.edu

  • 1 position available

  • Microvascular Oxygenation
  • Medical school student

Mark T. Nelson
Assistant Professor
Anesthesiology
(804) 920-0571
mark.nelson@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Blood Volume Changes in Surgery
  • Medical School students

Mark A. Reimers
Assistant Professor
Biostatistics
(804) 827-2055
mreimers@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Stipend available
  • Biostatistics
  • Genetics
  • Neurosciences
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Shunlin Ren
Associate Professor
Internal Medicine
Gastroenterology
(804) 675-5000
sren@vcu.edu

  • 2 places available
  • Biochemistry
  • Cardiovascular Disease
  • Lipid and Fatty Liver Diseases
  • College students

Biren A. Shah
Associate Professor
Radiology
(804) 560-8906, ext 7859
Biren.Shah@vcuhealth.org

  • 2 places available

 

  • Breast Imaging
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Amit Sharma
Associate Professor
Surgery
(804) 828-9298
asharma@mcvh-vcu.edu

  • No opportunities available
  • Hepatology
  • Immunology
  • Molecular Biology
  • Medical School students

Rita Shiang
Associate Professor
Human and Molecular Genetics
(804) 628-4083
rshiang@vcu.edu

  • No opportunities available
  • Cell Biology
  • Genetics
  • Molecular Biology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Sarah Spiegel
Professor, Department Head
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
(804) 828-9762
sspiegal@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Biochemistry
  • Cancer Biology
  • Immunology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Richard K. Sterling
Professor of Medicine
Internal Medicine
(804) 828-4060
Richard.Sterling@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Viral Hepatitis
  • Hepatocellular Carcinoma
  • Medical Students

Dong Sun
Associate Professor
Anatomy and Neurobiology
(804) 828-1318
Dong.Sun@vcuhealth.org
Places Available:
(1) High School rising senior
(1-2) College Students
(1) Medical Student

  • Neuroregeneration and plasticity following traumatic brain injury
  • High school students
  • College students
  • Medical students

Sebastian Tong
Assistant Professor
Family Medicine and Population Health
(804) 828-3258
stong@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • Primary Care
  • Practice Based Research Networks and Patient Engagement
  • Addiction Medicine
  • College Students
  • Medical School students

Brant Ward, MD, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine/Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology
(804) 828-8694
bward@vcu.edu

  • No opportunities available
  • Immunology
  • Mast Cell Biology and Mastocytosis
  • Immunodeficiency
 
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Elizabeth Wolf
Assistant Professor
General Pediatrics
(804) 828-5644
Elizabeth.wolf@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • General Pediatrics
  • Underserved Populations
  • Medical School students

Jinxing Yu
Professor
Radiology
(804) 628-0068
jinxing.yu@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Prostate MRI and Imaging Guided Prostate Biopsy
  • College Students
  • Medical School students

Zhibing Zhang
Associate Professor
Obstetrics/Gynecology
(804) 828-9725
Zhibing.Zhang@vcuhealth.org

  • 1 place available
  • Molecular Biology
  • Physiology
  • Male Reproduction
  • Medical School students

Huiping Zhou
Assistant Professor
Microbiology and Immunology
(804) 828-0676
hzhou@vcu.edu

  • 1 place available
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Molecular Biology
  • Pharmacology
  • College students
  • Medical School students

Hamid I. Akbarali
Professor
Pharmacology and Toxicology
(804) 828-9688
hiakbarali@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Ananda Amstadter
Assistant Professor
Psychiatry
(804) 828-8129
abamstadter@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Mark S. Baron
Professor
Neurology
Adult Neurology
(804) 828-9350
msbaron@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

J. Brian Cassel
Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine
(804) 628-1926
jbcassel@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Sumitra Deb
Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
(804) 827-1375
sdeb@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Todd W.B. Gehr
Professor/Division Head
Internal Medicine
Nephrology
(804) 828-9682
tgehr@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Tiffany Green
Assistant Professor
Healthcare Policy and Research
(804) 827-1200
tgreen25@vcu.edu

 

 

Positions not available 2017.

Pamela Knapp
Professor
Anatomy and Neurobiology
(804) 628-7570
peknapp@vcu.edu

 

 

Positions not available 2017.

Vijay Lyall
Associate Professor
Physiology and Biophysics
(804) 828-9759
vlyall@vcu.edu

 

 

Positions not available 2017.

Laura D. Mathies
Assistant Professor
Pharmacology and Toxicology
ldmathies@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

John M. McCarty
Professor
Internal Medicine
Hematology/Oncology
(804) 828-4596
jmccarty@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Ramesh Natarajan
Associate Professor
Internal Medicine
(804) 827-1013
ramesh.natarajan@vcuhealth.org

 


Positions not available 2017.

Luiz S. Ozaki
Associate Professor
Center for the Study of Biological Complexity
(804) 628-3066
lsozaki@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Scott Ramsey
Assistant Professor
Physiology and Biophysics
(804) 628-4576
isramsey@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Bruce Rubin
Professor/Department Head
Pediatrics/Pediatric Pulmonology
(804) 828-9602
brubin@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Iolanda Russo-Menna
Assistant Professor
Anesthesiology
(804) 628-6975
irussomenna@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.

Lei Xi
Associate Professor
Internal Medicine
Cardiology
(804) 628-5533
lxi@vcu.edu

 


Positions not available 2017.