Congratulations to all of the faculty who were honored for their contributions to excellence in teaching, humanism, patient care, mentorship and leadership.

Enrique Gerszten, M.D. Faculty Teaching Excellence Award

  • J. Christian Barrett, M.D.
    Professor of Internal Medicine

  • Barry V. Kirkpatrick, M.D., FAAP
    Professor of Pediatrics

Irby-James Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

  • Michelle N. Brooks, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Distinguished Mentor Award

  • Amir A. Toor, M.D.
    Professor of Internal Medicine

Educational Innovation/Educational Research Award

  • Megan S. Lemay, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

  • Sara Wilson McKay, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Art Education, VCUarts

  • John E. Nestler, M.D., MACP
    Distinguished Career Professor, Professor of Internal Medicine, OB/GYN and Pharmacology & Toxicology

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation

  • Kelley M. Dodson, M.D.
    Professor of Otolaryngology

Women in Science, Dentistry, and Medicine Professional Achievement Award

  • Vanessa B. Sheppard, Ph.D.
    Professor and Chair of Health Behavior and Policy

MCV Physicians Distinguished Clinician Award

  • Todd W. Gehr, M.D.
    Professor of Internal Medicine

VCU/VCUHS Leadership in Graduate Medical Education “LGME” Awards

  • Fellowship Director Award
    Brandon K. Wills, D.O.
    Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine

  • Program Director Award
    Kelley M. Dodson, M.D. FACS
    Professor of Otolaryngology

  • Program Coordinator Award
    Allison Dubinsky, M.Ed.
    Sr. Residency Program Coordinator, Internal Medicine

Outstanding Departmental Teacher Awards in Health Sciences Education

  • Kelly M. Harrell, Ph.D., M.T.T.
    Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology

  • William A. Barton, Ph.D.
    Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

  • Yongyun Shin, Ph.D.
    Department of Biostatistics

  • Lisa S. Anderson, M.P.H.
    Department of Family Medicine and Population Health

  • Anika L. Hines, Ph.D.
    Department of Health Behavior and Policy

  • Dana Lapato, Ph.D.
    Department of Human and Molecular Genetics

  • Eun D. Lee, Ph.D.
    Department of Microbiology and Immunology

  • Dana E. Selley, Ph.D.
    Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

  • Laura Sim Selley, Ph.D.
    Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

  • Charles D. Anderson, Jr., Ph.D.
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics

Outstanding Teacher Awards in Undergraduate Medical Education: Best Teacher in the Course and Clerkship Awards

  • Class of 2024 Scientific Foundations of Medicine
    Charles Clevenger, M.D., Ph.D.
    Foundations of Disease

    Kimberly Jefferson, Ph.D.
    Immunity and Infection

    Carmen Sato-Bigbee, Ph.D.
    Molecular Basis of Health and Disease

    Kirk Cumpston, D.O.
    Principles of Autonomics and Pharmacology

    Srinivasa Karnam, Ph.D.
    Principles of Physiology

  • Class of 2024 Applied Medical Sciences A
    Melissa McGinn-Greer, Ph.D.

    Trey Wickham, M.D., M.P.H.

    Scott Matherly, M.D.

    Sandra Colello, Ph.D.

    Gary Simmons, D.O.

    Nirav Patel, M.D.

    Valentina Robila, M.D., Ph.D.

    Sarah Milton, M.D., M.S.

  • Class of 2023 Applied Medical Sciences B
    Charles Anderson, Ph.D.

    Melissa McGinn Greer, Ph.D.
    Mind, Brain and Behavior

    Marjolein de Wit, M.D., M.S.

    Niraj Kothari, M.D.

  • Class of 2023 Applied Medical Sciences C
    Meera Pahuja, M.D.
    Longitudinal Curriculum

  • Class of 2023 and 2024 Practice of Clinical Medicine
    Meredith Berger, M.D.
    Class of 2023 PCM Preceptor

    Alger Southall, M.D.
    Class of 2023 PCM Preceptor (Family Medicine)

    Rex Harkrader, M.D.
    Class of 2023 PCM Preceptor (Family Medicine)

    Peter Moffett, M.D.
    Class of 2023 PCM Small Group Leader

    Evan Ritter, M.D.
    Class of 2024 PCM Small Group Leader

  • Class of 2022 M-III Clerkships
    Georgia McIntosh, M.D.

    Mitchell Miller, M.D.
    Family Medicine

    Gustave Weiland, M.D.
    Internal Medicine

    Sam Sullivan, M.D.
    Internal Medicine

    Kenichiro Ono, M.D.

    Katherine Czyszczon, M.D.

    Clifton Lee, M.D.

    Melissa Bui, M.D.

    Brian Kaplan, M.D.