Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

VCU School of Medicine

Welcome to VCU School of Medicine


Welcome to Committees

School of Medicine Committees

Scholarly Leave


The Committee on Scholarly Leave was established on July 1, 1994.


To review all requests for scholarly leave and to provide advice to the Dean, School of Medicine, on all such requests.


To provide peer evaluation of requests for scholarly leave.


The committee reviews each request the Dean receives. Requests are received on an intermittent basis. The committee meets at least twice a year to review and prioritize requests for scholarly leave. The committee will submit to the Dean a prioritized list of requests, an evaluation of each proposal, and a rationale for prioritization of requests. The applicant for scholarly leave should initiate his/her request with his/her departmental chair six to 12 months in advance. The chair forwards the request to the Dean’s office.

Procedures for Appointment

The Dean, School of Medicine, appoints a standing committee.

Membership and Term

Membership consists of at least four faculty members with representation from both basic sciences and clinical departments. Terms are indefinite.


Elizabeth "Betsy" Ripley, M.D., M.S.
Interim Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Phone: 804-628-2353
Email: elizabeth.ripley@vcuhealth.org

(No direct contact with committee members is allowed.)