Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

VCU School of Medicine

Welcome to VCU School of Medicine


Welcome to Committees

School of Medicine Committees

Teaching Excellence Awards


The charge to the Committee is to select faculty members for recommendation to the Dean, School of Medicine, to receive Teaching Excellence Awards. Teaching Excellence Awards include:

  • The Faculty Teaching Excellence Award
  • The Irby-James Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching
  • The Educational Innovation/Educational Research Award
  • The Distinguished Mentor Award

The Committee periodically reviews all award criteria, award selection process and committee composition. The Committee also provides guidance in the implementation of the awards to the recipients.


To ensure the process of award selection is fair and equitable, to advise the Dean regarding the awards in the context of a changing education environment and to promote the awards.


The Committee meets once a year to review nominations and to select individuals to receive the awards. Subcommittees are formed as needed by the chair to achieve the purpose and goals of the committee. The Committee will issue a report to the Dean, School of Medicine, reviewing the status of the awards, awards criteria, selection and implementation and committee composition within three years after the first award is given. The Committee will continue to provide a review at three-year intervals following the initial report.

Procedures for Appointment

The Dean, School of Medicine, appoints committee members with the exception of the past recipients of the Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards.

Membership and Term

The Committee consists of two faculty members representing the basic sciences, two faculty members representing the clinical sciences, one graduate student, two M4 representatives, one resident, a representative of the Office of Faculty and Instructional Development, and the previous three recipients of the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. The Committee is chaired by the Associate Dean, Faculty and Instructional Development, or other as designated by the Dean. The past Teaching Excellence Award members serve for three-year terms beginning the calendar year after the award is conferred. The two basic sciences and two clinical science faculty members are appointed for three-year terms. The Office of Faculty Affairs representatives are non-voting.


Deborah Stewart
Education Program Coordinator
Office of Faculty Affairs, Faculty and Instructional Development
Phone: 804-828-6591
E-mail: dstewart@vcu.edu