Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

VCU School of Medicine

Welcome to VCU School of Medicine


Welcome to Faculty

James M. Ecklund, M.D., F.A.C.S.

James M. Ecklund, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Chairman, Department of Neurosciences
Inova Health System

Phone: 703-776-7998


James M. Ecklund, M.D., F.A.C.S. is currently the Chairman of the Department of Neurosciences at Inova Fairfax Hospital.  Prior to coming to Inova in October 2007, Dr. Ecklund served as Professor and Chairman of the Neurosurgery Program of the National Capital Consortium which includes Walter Reed Army Medical Center (WRAMC) in Washington, D.C. and National Naval Medical Center and the Uniformed Services University in Bethesda, Maryland from 1998-2007. He obtained his undergraduate education at the United States Military Academy at West Point, New York. He attended medical school at the Uniformed Services University and subsequently completed neurosurgical residency at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in 1993.

Dr. Ecklund is a general neurosurgeon with primary clinic interests in neurotrauma, complex spine, and cerebrovascular disease. His research interests include neurotrauma with an emphasis on blast and penetrating injury. He directs a neurotrauma laboratory at the Uniformed Services University, has over 100 publications and abstracts, and has lectured throughout the world in over 10 different countries. He serves as a reviewer for the Journal of Trauma and Neurosurgery. Until his recent retirement, he held the rank of COL in the U.S Army and was deployed as a Neurosurgeon to both Afghanistan and Iraq. His Neurosurgery Program has received the vast majority of the American neurotrauma casualties from the Global War on Terrorism.

Dr. Ecklund has held numerous leadership positions within neurosurgical and national organizations including Chairman of the Membership Committee for the AANS, Chairman of the Joint Committee for Military Neurosurgeons of the AANS and CNS, President of the Washington Academy of Neurosurgery, and Program Director for the 11-19th International Spine and Peripheral Nerve workshops. He serves on the Committee of Trauma for the American College of Surgeons, and is the Chairman of the Board for the Hugh and Carolyn Shelton Military Neurotrauma Foundation. He also serves on multiple oversight and advisory boards for the Veterans Administration, Department of Defense, National Institutes of Health, NATO, Neurotrauma Foundation, and Brain Trauma Foundation.

Dr. Ecklund is the recipient of numerous awards, including the General Graves B. Erksine award as the Outstanding Resident at WRAMC, the USU Emerging Technologies Award, the General George Hayes Award for the Outstanding Neurosurgery Faculty Member, and received the “A” Designator by the Surgeon General of the Army for excellence in neurosurgery.  He was inducted into the Society for Military Medical Merit, and elected into the Society of Neurological Surgeons.


  • Neurosurgery

Contact Information

  • Practice: Inova Regional Neurosurgery Service
  • Practice Type: Group
  • Address: Falls Church Office
    3300 Gallows Rd.
    Falls Church, VA 22042
  • Phone: 703-776-7998
  • Fax: 703-776-4018

Hospital Affiliation

Medical Education & Training

  • Medical Education
    • Uniformed Service University H.S. - 1987
  • Internship
    • Walter Reed Army Medical Center - Surgery - 1988
  • Residency
    • Walter Reed Army Medical Center - 1993
  • Certification
    • Neurological Surgery - 1995