Jump to content
Placeholder image for header
School of Medicine

VCU School of Medicine

Welcome to VCU School of Medicine

Reporting Concerns

Welcome to Reporting Concerns

SOM Professionalism Committee Members
2015-2016 Academic Year

contact information for reporting professionalism concerns

* = ex officio member
Faculty/Administrative Members


Cheryl Al-Mateen, MD


Kathy Kreutzer, MEd

Staff to Committee


*Julie Beales, MD

Interim Chief of Staff, McGuire VAMC

*Lelia Brinegar, BS, MEd

Assistant Dean, Curriculum Office

*Ellen Brock, MD, MPH

Medical Director, Center for Human Simulation and Patient Safety

*Samantha Buery Joyner, MD

Inova Campus Assistant Dean for Student Activities

*Craig Cheifetz, MD

Inova Campus Associate Dean for Medical Education

*Jan Chlebowski, PhD

Associate Dean Graduate Education

*Ron Clark, MD

Chief of Staff, VCUHS

*Maria Curran, MA

Human Resources, VCUHS

Susan DiGiovanni, MD

Interim Sr. Associate Dean for Medical Education and Student Affairs

*Alan Dow, MD, MSHA

Assistant VP of Health Sciences,
Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care

Serina Floyd, MD

Inova Campus Obstetrics & Gynecology

*Alicia Freedy, MD

Inova Campus Assistant Dean for Curriculum

Anne Hawkins, MS, RN, NE-BC

Nursing Director of Psychiatry, VCUHS

*Lenore Joseph, MD

McGuire VAMC Associate Chief of Staff for Education

Mark Malkin, MD


Beth Marshall, MD


*Rosa Morales Theodore, MD

Chair, Multicultural Affairs Advisory Board

*Mary Alice O’Donnell, PhD

Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education

*Edna Rensing, MA, MSHA, CPHQ, PMP

Performance Improvement Manager, VCUHS

*Michael Ryan, MD, MEd

Assistant Dean, Clinical Medical Education

*Karen Sanders, MD

Past Committee Chair; Deputy Chief Academic Affiliations Officer, Veterans Health Administration

Rita Shiang, PhD

Associate Professor, Human and Molecular Genetics

J.P. Verderese, MD

Inova Campus, Internal Medicine, Hospitalist

*Chris Woleben, MD

Associate Dean for Student Affairs

*Wilhelm Zuelzer, MD

Orthopaedic Surgery

Housestaff Representatives

Nathaniel Warner

Internal Medicine

Raj Ramanathan


Medical Student Representatives

Jennifer O'Neil

M1, Class of 2019

Youmna Sherif

M3, Class of 2017

Postdoctoral Scholar Representative

Pretal Muldoon


Professionalism Committee Composition –
Members Appointed by the Dean

  • Appointment by position, indefinite
    • Assistant Dean, Medical Student Education, Inova Campus
    • Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs/Chief of Staff, VCUHS
    • Associate Dean, Faculty and Instructional Development
    • Associate Dean, Graduate Education
    • Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education
    • Associate Dean, Student Activities
    • Assistant Deans, Medical Education
    • Chair, Multicultural Affairs Advisory Board
    • Medical Director, Center for Human Simulation and Patient Safety
    • Senior Associate Dean, Medical Education and Student Activities
    • VAMC Associate Chief of Staff, Education
    • VAMC Chief of Staff
    • Vice President, Human Resources, VCUHS
  • Appointment for three year terms, staggered
    • One basic science faculty
    • Four clinical faculty
    • Inova faculty representative
    • VAMC faculty representative
    • VCUHS nursing representative
  • Appointment for one year term
    • One second-year medical student
    • One fourth-year medical student
    • One housestaff representative
  • Staff to the Committee
    • Curriculum Consultant and Web Support
    • Curriculum Coordinator, Inova Campus
    • Director of the Curriculum
    • Office of Faculty Affairs Staff Member
  • Ex-officio
    • Dean, School of Medicine
    • Sr. Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
    • Associate Dean, Inova Campus