Dear colleagues,

The spirit of innovation and invention is alive and thriving at the School of Medicine!

On Wednesday, I had the honor of attending the VCU chapter of the National Academy of Inventors ceremony at Maymont, during which 10 of our SOM colleagues were honored for their achievements with induction into the NAI.

To be inducted, you must hold at least two U.S. patents. This year’s inductees are:

  • William C. Broaddus, MD, Ph.D., Neurosurgery
  • M. Imad Damaj, Ph.D., Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Paul Dent, Ph.D., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Luni Emdad, Ph.D., Human and Molecular Genetics
  • Steven Grant, MD, Internal Medicine/Oncology
  • Siyong Kim, Ph.D., Radiation Oncology
  • Rakesh Kukreja, Ph.D., Internal Medicine
  • Masoud Manjili, Ph.D., Microbiology and Immunology
  • Youngman Oh, Ph.D., Pathology
  • Sarah Spiegel, Ph.D., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Please join me in recognizing our colleagues for these outstanding individual achievements in their fields and for their contributions to the School of Medicine and larger VCU community.

Kind regards,

Arturo P. Saavedra, M.D., Ph.D.
Dean, VCU School of Medicine
Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, VCU Health System