Our Mission

The VCU School of Medicine’s Office of Research Administration provides leadership and expertise in developing and maintaining effective administrative and financial management infrastructure in support of research within the School by working as a strategic partner with faculty, departments, university, and health system offices.

How We Can Help

The Office of Research Administration partners with School of Medicine departments, centers and institutes to establish efficient and effective administrative operations

The Office of Research Administration (SOMRA) partners with faculty, departments, university, and health system offices to ensure sound administrative and financial management of research.  SOMRA provides oversight for the financial and administrative management of research conducted in SOM departments, centers, and institutes.  The office develops and maintains school-level standard operating procedures and expectations and provides training to facilitate compliance with Federal, State, University and sponsor policies.  SOMRA provides central teams to support clinical research administrative activation and financial management, as well as partners with departments, centers, and institutes to provide pre and post award research administration and business operations support services.

Learn more about:

Frequently Asked Questions

Contacts

The School of Medicine Office of Research Administration is located in Sanger Hall, suite 1-043, and in the McGuire Annex, 1st Floor.

Need guidance on obtaining review and signature from the SOM Office of Research Administration? Review our guide to gathering signatures. 

Staff

Tricia Gibson, MS, CRA, CCRP

Tricia Gibson, MS, CRA, CCRP

Executive Director for Research Administration

Tricia Gibson, MS, CRA, CCRP

Tricia Gibson, MS, CRA, CCRP

Executive Director for Research Administration

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 828-9275

Fax: (804) 828-7628

Email: tricia.gibson@vcuhealth.org

Cindy Naret

Cindy Naret

Assoc. Dir. for Clinical Research Admin. & Ops.

Cindy Naret

Cindy Naret

Assoc. Dir. for Clinical Research Admin. & Ops.

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-3010

Email: cindy.naret@vcuhealth.org

Margaret Phillips, MBA, CRA, CCRP

Margaret Phillips, MBA, CRA, CCRP

Associate Director for Business Operations

Margaret Phillips, MBA, CRA, CCRP

Margaret Phillips, MBA, CRA, CCRP

Associate Director for Business Operations

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-6285

Email: Margaret.Phillips@vcuhealth.org

Candice Weber, MA, CRA

Candice Weber, MA, CRA

Assoc. Dir. for Research Administration & Training

Candice Weber, MA, CRA

Candice Weber, MA, CRA

Assoc. Dir. for Research Administration & Training

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-0065

Email: Candice.Weber@vcuhealth.org

Elham Almousa

Elham Almousa

Mgr of Clinical Research Administration

Elham Almousa

Elham Almousa

Mgr of Clinical Research Administration

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 827-3913

Email: elham.almousa@vcuhealth.org

Terrence Banks

Terrence Banks

Clinical Research Budget Analyst

Terrence Banks

Terrence Banks

Clinical Research Budget Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-5989

Email: Terrence.Banks@vcuhealth.org

Katie Cappuccio

Katie Cappuccio

Fiscal & Admin Coordinator

Katie Cappuccio

Katie Cappuccio

Fiscal & Admin Coordinator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 827-0518

Email: Katherine.Cappucio@vcuhealth.org

Jason Elswick

Jason Elswick

Clinical Research Activation

Jason Elswick

Jason Elswick

Clinical Research Activation

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 828-1902

Email: Jason.Elswick@vcuhealth.org

Angela Hernandez

Angela Hernandez

CT Financial Analyst

Angela Hernandez

Angela Hernandez

CT Financial Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-3441

Email: Angela.Hernandez-Guerrero@vcuhealth.org

Cindy Kinney, MBA, CRA

Cindy Kinney, MBA, CRA

Senior Research Administrator

Cindy Kinney, MBA, CRA

Cindy Kinney, MBA, CRA

Senior Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-4513

Email: cindy.kinney@vcuhealth.org

Kate Leonard, MA, CRA

Kate Leonard, MA, CRA

Research Administrator

Kate Leonard, MA, CRA

Kate Leonard, MA, CRA

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-1088

Email: kathryn.leonard@vcuhealth.org

Kaye Mangus, MBA, CRA

Kaye Mangus, MBA, CRA

Research Administrator

Kaye Mangus, MBA, CRA

Kaye Mangus, MBA, CRA

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-4159

Email: kaye.mangus@vcuhealth.org

Sara Moggio

Sara Moggio

Business Manager

Sara Moggio

Sara Moggio

Business Manager

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 828-5155

Email: Sara.Moggio@vcuhealth.org

Letitia Rivers, CCRP, OnCore Certified

Letitia Rivers, CCRP, OnCore Certified

Protocol and Regulatory Coordinator

Letitia Rivers, CCRP, OnCore Certified

Letitia Rivers, CCRP, OnCore Certified

Protocol and Regulatory Coordinator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-3272

Email: letitia.rivers@vcuhealth.org

Eric Szandzik

Eric Szandzik

CT Financial Analyst

Eric Szandzik

Eric Szandzik

CT Financial Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 827-0633

Email: Eric.Szandzik@vcuhealth.org

John Thrift

John Thrift

Senior Clinical Research Analyst

John Thrift

John Thrift

Senior Clinical Research Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-4769

Email: john.thrift@vcuhealth.org

Julie Tremblay

Julie Tremblay

Research Administrator

Julie Tremblay

Julie Tremblay

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 828-5937

Email: julie.tremblay@vcuhealth.org

Chris Tiller

Chris Tiller

Research Administrator

Chris Tiller

Chris Tiller

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Email: chris.tiller@vcuhealth.org

Scarlett Christiansen

Scarlett Christiansen

Research Administrator

Scarlett Christiansen

Scarlett Christiansen

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Email: scarlett.christiansen@vcuhealth.org

John Turner

John Turner

Clinical Research Budget Analyst

John Turner

John Turner

Clinical Research Budget Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 628-4856

Email: john.L.turner@vcuhealth.org

Tiffany Washington

Tiffany Washington

Research Administrator

Tiffany Washington

Tiffany Washington

Research Administrator

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 827-1638

Email: tiffany.washington@vcuhealth.org

Mandy Haasch

Mandy Haasch

Financial Analyst

Mandy Haasch

Mandy Haasch

Financial Analyst

Office of Research Administration

Phone: (804) 827-0510

Email: mandy.haasch@vcuhealth.org