Improving the quality of health care for humanity through preeminent medical education

About the Program

About the Program

Located in the heart of Richmond, Virginia, the VCU School of Medicine is proud to train the next generation of skilled, compassionate physicians. With the support of our dedicated faculty and staff, graduates of our M.D. program match at a rate higher than the national average, allowing them to pursue careers across the full spectrum of medical specialties, advance health care through innovative research and become leaders within their chosen fields.

Careers in Medicine

Careers in Medicine

Built on the foundation of AAMC materials, our four-year integrated program, Careers in Medicine, provides support and guidance during each phase of medical school. Through personality assessments, career-specific advising sessions, specialty workshops and residency match counseling, we will help you select and pursue the medical specialty that best suits you.

Explore the program ❯

Supporting Our Students

We are invested not just in providing medical education, but in supporting you as you choose and pursue your career. From the moment you are accepted into our program, we are here to answer every question and celebrate every milestone on your journey to becoming a physician.

Learn more

News

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

As healers, scientists, faculty and learners in the VCU School of Medicine, we have a responsibility to condemn racism and all forms of discrimination. Cultivating a diverse, equitable and inclusive environment is essential in fulfilling our mission to improve the quality of health care for humanity, and we are committed to engaging in dialogue across the breadth of our community to fuel our actions.

What we believe ❯

Our Team

Dr. Luan Lawson

Luan Lawson, M.D.

Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education & Student Affairs
luan.lawson@vcuhealth.org

Christopher Woleben

Chris Woleben, M.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs
christopher.woleben@vcuhealth.org

Nicole Deiorio, M.D.

Associate Dean for Student Affairs
nicole.deiorio@vcuhealth.org

Diane Biskobing

Diane Biskobing, M.D.

Associate Dean for Preclinical Medical Education
diane.biskobing@vcuhealth.org

Dr. Hobgood

Sarah Hobgood, M.D.

Assistant Dean for Clinical Medical Education
sarah.hobgood@vcuhealth.org

Lelia Brinegar, Ed.D.

Assistant Dean for Medical Education
lelia.brinegar@vcuhealth.org

Susan DiGiovanni 5x7

Susan DiGiovanni, M.D.

Associate Dean for Accreditation & CQI
susan.digiovanni@vcuhealth.org

Pemra Cetin

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs & Financial Aid
pemra.cetin@vcuhealth.org

Kacie Lord, Ed.S.

Director of Curriculum Initiatives & Quality
kacie.lord@vcuhealth.org

Eric Ellis

Director of Educational Systems & Analytics
eric.ellis@vcuhealth.org

Vacant

Student Affairs Coordinator & Assistant Registrar

Joy Jones

Senior Financial Aid Counselor
joy.jones1@vcuhealth.org

Vacant

M1 Medical Education Coordinator 

Kathy Naneyshvili

Kathy Naneyshvili

M2 Medical Education Coordinator & Special Events Coordinator
kathy.naneyshvili@vcuhealth.org

Vacant

M3 Medical Education Coordinator

Summer Pearce

Summer Pearce

M4 Medical Education Coordinator
summer.pearce@vcuhealth.org

Hayley Mathews

Hayley Matthews

Ambulatory & VSLO Medical Education Coordinator
hayley.matthews@vcuhealth.org

Katelyn Williams

Katelyn Williams

Longitudinal Curricula Medical Education Coordinator
katelyn.williams@vcuhealth.org

Emma-Hill MacDonald

Executive Administrative Assistant
emma.macdonald@vcuhealth.org

Linda Costanzo

Linda Costanzo, Ph.D.

USMLE Student Support
linda.costanzo@vcuhealth.org

LCME Accreditation

In 2023, a team from the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, or LCME, will conduct a site visit to assess the VCU School of Medicine and our M.D. program. As the only organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit educational programs leading to the M.D. degree, the LCME conducts regular visits to ensure that medical schools across the country are meeting national standards.

As this visit approaches, we will engage in a robust process of self-study to showcase our strengths and identify opportunities for growth.

Learn more ❯