Dear colleagues,

The School of Medicine has an outstanding faculty – on the forefront of research and innovation, clinical practice and teaching the next generation of caregivers and physician servant-leaders. That’s why it is especially gratifying when some of our own are formally recognized for their distinguished service, excellence and achievements.

Three of our team were honored earlier this week by VCU President Michael Rao, Ph.D., at VCU’s 41st Faculty Convocation:

  • Michael F. Miles, M.D., Ph.D. received the University Award of Excellence
  • Curtis N. Sessler, M.D. received the Distinguished Service Award
  • Anika L. Hines, Ph.D., M.P.H., now at the School of Population Health, received the Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award & Outstanding Team Faculty Award

In all, our team members accounted for three of the seven major VCU faculty awards. You can read more about each of our recipients here, and I encourage you to reach out and congratulate them on their achievement.

I am so proud of what we are accomplishing at SOM. We’re heading in the right direction, and it starts with you and the commitment you bring to our mission. Thank you for all you do, every day!

With gratitude,

Arturo P. Saavedra, M.D., Ph.D.
Dean, VCU School of Medicine
Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, VCU Health System