Livestreamed Event

The School of Medicine convened for a virtual ceremony recognizing and celebrating the recipients of the 2020 Faculty Excellence Awards.

22nd Annual Faculty Excellence Awards Program
Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2020, 12–1 p.m.

Download the flyer


Congratulations to all of the faculty who are being honoring for their contributions to excellence in teaching, humanism, patient care, professional achievement and leadership.

Enrique Gerszten, M.D. Faculty Teaching Excellence Award

  • John W. Bigbee, Ph.D.
    Professor of Anatomy and Neurobiology

Irby-James Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching

  • Jason M. Kidd, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Distinguished Mentor Award

  • Ananda B. Amstadter, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Psychiatry

  • Kenneth A. Ellenbogen, M.D.
    Professor of Internal Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation

  • Georgia N. McIntosh, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Women in Science, Dentistry, and Medicine Professional Achievement Award

  • Joyce A. Lloyd, Ph.D.
    Professor of Human and Molecular Genetics

MCV Physicians Distinguished Clinician Award

  • Mark H. Ryan, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine and Population Health

VCU/VCUHS Leadership in Graduate Medical Education “LGME” Awards

  • Fellowship Director Award
    Danielle M. Noreika, M.D.
    Associate Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine

  • Program Director Award
    Emma C. Fields, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology

  • Program Coordinator Award
    Kevin D. Keller, M.S.
    Program Coordinator, Emergency Medicine

Outstanding Departmental Teacher Awards in Health Sciences Education

Outstanding Teacher Awards in Undergraduate Medical Education