VCU/VCUHS Leadership in Graduate Medical Education “LGME” Award

"Fellowship Director Award"

Dr. Paula Ferrada is the Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Program Director. She received her medical degree from the Universidad del Valle in Cali, Columbia and completed a surgical residency at Harvard University’s Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. She subsequently did a fellowship in Surgical Critical Care at the University of Pittsburgh followed by a fellowship in Acute Care Surgery at the University of Maryland. Dr. Ferrada joined the VCU faculty in 2010 and has served the roles of both Medical Director of the Surgical Intensive Care Unit and Fellowship Program Director since 2015.

Those who nominated her describe her as an amazing mentor, teacher, and role model. One of her former fellows writes: “Dr. Ferrada is a proven leader in the surgical world and an outstanding clinician. Her merits alone would make any surgeon happy to be her fellow. All that aside, the greatest aspect of Dr. Ferrada is that she has been and continues to be an amazing role model to me and countless other students, residents, fellows, and surgeons.

The greatest lessons I have learned from Dr. Ferrada have come by observing how she interacts with her patients, colleagues, and team. Dr. Ferrada not only leads by example but is dedicated to the concept the that team succeeds when all members strive to reach the highest standards by helping each other. All challenges and shortcomings are viewed as an opportunity to learn and improve. I had the privilege of witnessing her develop this culture and team atmosphere, which resulted in an exceptional clinical and training environment.” Another nominator writes: “From writing chapters in surgical text books, to being the Director of the Surgical ICU, to participating in a dance competition to raise money for the Children’s Hospital, Dr. Ferrada is someone who truly leads by example and inspires others. . . . ”

We congratulate Dr. Ferrada for winning the 2019 Leadership in Graduate Medical Education Award for Fellowship Program Directors!